When I am Being Prayed For

One thing very unforgettable happened yesterday at Sunday service that I feel I must document so I wouldn’t let this fade in my heart. The sermon series is called The Working of the Spirit which yesterday’s theme is about Healing and Wholeness. Pastor John Snelgrove was teaching about how we should pray. But one thing he highlights about the outcome which is so bewildering is that why some prayers are answered while some are not? One thing he said, if people number 1 through 9 you prayed for do not see the ‘result’, pray for number 10. You just do not stop. At one point, John brought up many issues about things people want to be prayed for such as a bad back, broken leg, jobs, deafness, blurring vision, uncertain future, etc and the list was super long, then he said to the congregation if there is anything here that he mentioned coincides with what you face now, raised your hand and the people around that person shall pray for the needy one. That moment, I raised my hand – in the midst of like hundreds of people, I was not afraid to let people know I am hurt and want to be prayed for.  Immediately, the adjacent people swarmed around me and pray. I was like starting to feel the current moving into my body and I just hear small murmur around my ears and I pray to God with my hands open in the air.  Some slowly left me and I thank them with all my heart, but one lady stayed with me for a long time. She then asked me if there is anything specific she can pray for me? I was really surprised but do not want to reject this open invitation from God through this kind woman and I told her a few things from Occupy Movement to my upcoming trip to India and the broken-ness of my heart. She upon listening then laid her hand on my shoulder and started to pray fiercely and loudly, just like one of the disciples of Jesus proclaiming His name calling for His grace and mercy on me. She was so super proficient in her words and she was filled with strength and might through Him, and then she started to speak in tongues and then back in English and then in tongues and back in English. I was stunned, struck with awe and tears started to fall from my eyes. How amazing when you feel that someone is praying for you purely devoting all her might for you. It’s just for you. And God will hear those plea. And when this amazing gifted person is done like after a long time, I thank Him and her, and went to take the Holy Union – blood and body of Christ and feeling that His presence in me. At this moment when I just put the bread in my mouth, another woman I have never seen or known at all, come next to me.  From her accent, I guess she is an Australian and she again laid her hand on my shoulder and she just looked at me in my eyes and so gently she said to me: “I saw a spark just now, a very small spark in you. It’s in you and it’s so tiny that it’s like the wind is blowing against it and it’s so so weak and small that it’s going off very soon.”  Then tears kept rolling from my eyes like water tap… She continued and looked at me with such a laser focus “But now there is a fire.”  And my tears are flowing like river.  “And it’s firing up now, like a bon-fire.” She smiled at me with the greatest kindness. This lady’s eyes are a bit red in fact and then I told her I am speechless. I really do not know what to say but to thank her for her words about what she saw. We hugged each other and I felt so strange and completely out of control. I do not know what happened.  This is so surreal and I know why this Aussie lady saw something she saw. Because I was angry at God earlier and felt really disappointed about Him. I lost my anchor and did not hold Him close because He disappoints me as I felt that He let me down again and again while I have been a good kid to Him all along. But I hang in there and trying to find my way though.  Yesterday, God sent His people to speak with me:  first my Pastor, then the person who prayed for me who spoke in tongues and then the ‘prophet’ woman. All these happened within 30 minutes of my life seamlessly one after the other just to make sure I dig it. This echoes my Alpha course the other night about how do we hear from God? Team mate mentioned a lot of things like through the Bible, through dreams, through circumstance of life, and I said through people. And once again the story connects – dots are connecting. I have never experienced anything like what I mentioned here but I know God is speaking to me. He is speaking to me specifically with dedication and whole-heartedly. He does not leave us alone.

Quote of the Day
Praise be to God, who has not rejected my prayer or withheld his love from me!
Psalm 66:20
I pray to God that I will believe and trust in Him and have faith in Him.

Postscript Quote 
Do not pray for an easy life, pray for the strength to endure a difficult one.
Bruce Lee 

Leave a comment